1

Closed

Tool forgets/wipes credential information after 1 (?) unsuccessful login attempt

description

Hello,

first of all, thanks for the incredibly useful tool! However, I have one issue with it that really bothers me.
The Tool forgets/wipes credential information after 1 (?) unsuccessful login attempt, it seems.
This happens with us when the git repo is down for maintenance or too slow for example.
I would like to not have it reset it's stored credential information after 1 (or more) unsuccessful login attempts, is this possible?



Thanks in advance,
Daniel
Closed Oct 24, 2014 at 10:58 PM by anurse

comments

anurse wrote Oct 24, 2014 at 10:57 PM

Unfortunately this is "by design" though I'm not a huge fan of the design. Since this helper is invoked explicitly by Git, Git is the one causing the wipe. When Git fails to authenticate, it calls the Erase function on the registered credential helper. I could in theory build some kind of logic to not actually erase credentials under some circumstances, but it would require some extra state management and would technically be violating the contract between Git and the credential helper.